Error 613 tracing

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #20384
    DegibboDegibbo
    Participant
    Karma: 17
    Rank: Padawan

    G’day All,

    We have an Allen Bradley SLC500 / Panel View 550 system that has been in service for 22 years so is not under development.  Installed is a 5/2 CPU, 1 x 4 Ch analog I/O, 4 x 8ch RTDs, 1 x 16 Ch DI, one x 16 Ch IO cards.

    One RTD card failed (short on 24V bus), was repaired but there after, generated a 613 error code.  In our system, if one of the 4 RTD cards is removed, will the Panel View 550 normally generate a 613 error code?

    Cheers & thanks (need guidance)

    Degibbo

    #20385
    CmooreCraig Moore
    Participant
    Karma: 31
    Rank: Padawan

    A panel view indicate error code 613″Required network node not found” would make me think the connection between the old and hmi is not connected.  This fault is basically telling you that the hmi is looking for the plc that should be at node address #__.  If the hmi doesn’t see the plc at this address then usually it is a bad connection or the node address got changed

    #20386
    DegibboDegibbo
    Participant
    Karma: 17
    Rank: Padawan

    Thanks Craig,

    The cable between the Panel View and PCL CPU is intact.  If I disconnect it the error message changes to 612, so the Panel View appears to “see” the PCL CPU module, but I don’t know if the PLC CPU is defective or not and I currently don’t have access to a replacement.

    So, can I assume that if a system has multiple modules, and they are removed, and the CPU is OK, that the Panel View will NOT generate the 613 error?

    Thanks,

    DG

    #20387
    CmooreCraig Moore
    Participant
    Karma: 31
    Rank: Padawan

    If a module (card) is removed from the plc rack then the configuration in the program will have to be updated or the plc will fault.  Red light on front of plc. If the plc Is faulted then the hmi will also not connect to it until the problem is resolved.

    #20391
    DegibboDegibbo
    Participant
    Karma: 17
    Rank: Padawan

    G’day again Craig,

    The current status is that no modules are showing a “fault” condition.

    The PV 550 is showing error code 613.  The SLC 5/02 module COMM LED is flickering and all other LEDs on the CPU module are out.  The four RTD MODULE STAT LEDs are green.

    So, what can I do to track down what is wrong (i.e. which module is causing the 613 fault)?

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks,

    DG

    #20396
    CmooreCraig Moore
    Participant
    Karma: 31
    Rank: Padawan

    If the run light on the plc isn’t on green then the hmi will not connect yet.  You need to go online with your plc and see why you aren’t in run mode.  This could be as simple as putting it into run mode or you may have lost the program on the plc. Especially since you had a voltage short on one of the cards in the rack this could have damaged the processor across the backplane of the rack.

    #20458
    DegibboDegibbo
    Participant
    Karma: 17
    Rank: Padawan

    FYI Craig,

    I have resolved the pesky problem.  It looks like the PLC memory was corrupted.

    Removing the back-up battery and shorting the PCB connector pins for a minute

    solved the problem and everything is back up and running with no errors.

     

    Cheers & thanks,

    DG

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.