FactoryTalk View Studio: Error Opening Project – Cannot Connect to Addin

Home PLCGurus.NET Live & Interactive Forum PLC Questions and Answers Rockwell, Allen-Bradley, Stratix FactoryTalk View Studio: Error Opening Project – Cannot Connect to Addin

https://www.linkev.com/?a_fid=ics-eng

This topic contains 21 replies, has 10 voices, and was last updated by Ken S Ken S 6 months, 3 weeks ago.

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #809
    Mister Incredible
    Mister Incredible
    Participant
    • Topics: 8
    • Replies: 16
    • Total Posts: 24
    Karma: 48
    Rank: Padawan

    Today when trying to open the FactoryTalk View Studio project I get the ERROR MESSAGE Cannot connect to addin object. Name: ViewStudio Activity Bar. Cause 80004005. When I click OK I get another message saying: Cannot connect to addin object. Name: View Studio SLHMI Project Handler. Cause: 80042089. Uninstalled FactoryTalk Studio and reinstalled with same results. Operating System WIN 10 PRO FTVS version 9.0.

    #810
    Fred Graham
    Fred Graham
    Keymaster
    • Topics: 13
    • Replies: 158
    • Total Posts: 171

    I have seen this problem before. The FactoryTalk Network Directory has not been configured.

    Solution:
    Configure the FactoryTalk Network Directory by launching the wizard as follows:
    Navigate to Start –> All Programs –> Rockwell Software –> FactoryTalk Tools
    Click on FactoryTalk Directory Configuration Wizard.
    After the wizard is launched, select FactoryTalk Network Directory and complete the wizard.

    If you have a TechConnect agreement you can view the technote here https://rockwellautomation.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/24940

    #871
    Ron Scott
    Ron Scott
    Participant
    • Topics: 0
    • Replies: 2
    • Total Posts: 2
    Karma: 10
    Rank: Padawan

    Hi

    I am having the same issue, this problem started a few days ago and I have tried everything to correct the problem. Studio 5000 will run with an error at startup. “There was an error logging into the Security Server” 1699-80043B07. RSlinx will not show RSwho Error “Can’t access file: C:\Program Files (x86)\Rockwell Software\RSCommon\Harmony.rsh. I am sure these problems are due to the factorytalk Directory, but when I try to configure the directory I receive and error ” Access Denied” I have gone as far as resorting my Laptop to factory but still no luck. the version of windows 10 is 1709 I don’t believe I have these problems before the update. any help would be greatly appreciated.

    #874
    Fred Graham
    Fred Graham
    Keymaster
    • Topics: 13
    • Replies: 158
    • Total Posts: 171

    Hi Ron and welcome to the forum! This issue is referenced in Rockwell Technote 772315 however you will need a TechConnect contract to access. Here are some things you can try:

    Solution 1

    Perform a repair on FactoryTalk Services Platform:

    Go to Control Panel –> Programs and Features
    Find FactoryTalk Services Platform , click Change and then click Next
    Select option Repair and click Next
    Install FactoryTalk Services Platform
    Reboot the computer

    Solution 2

    Disable UAC (User Account Control) in Windows 10:

    Right click on the Start button or just press Win+X hotkeys on the keyboard and click Control Panel
    Go to the following path: User Accounts–>User Accounts
    Click on Change User Account Control Settings
    Move the slider to the bottom Never Notify
    Click OK. This will disable UAC.

    Alternatively:

    Right click on the Start button to open the Start menu
    Type uac in Search Windows box.
    Launch the User Account Control Settings dialog box.

    If the above solutions don’t work then FactoryTalk Services Platform needs to be removed completely and reinstalled.

    Let us know how you make out!

    #875
    Ron Scott
    Ron Scott
    Participant
    • Topics: 0
    • Replies: 2
    • Total Posts: 2
    Karma: 10
    Rank: Padawan

    thanks for the quick response. I do have a tech connect account and tried all the solutions in the technote without success. this was my reasoning for doing the restore on my laptop. and after the complete restore and installation of no other programs I tried to install RSlinx and even that would still give the same error. I have two nearly identical laptops dell E7270, E7280 both are doing the same thing. the 7270 is running build 1703 and still functions enough so I can work. the 7280 is now in the process of restoring to an older Acronis image I have. I am completely at a loss as to how this could be happening.

    #876
    Fred Graham
    Fred Graham
    Keymaster
    • Topics: 13
    • Replies: 158
    • Total Posts: 171

    Hmmm. I have to ask. Do you have Administrator rights on these machines? I’ve seen it where Rockwell software will install to some extent, however, have all sorts of problems. What versions of Studio, FTV and RSLinx are you trying to install?

    #877
    Fred Graham
    Fred Graham
    Keymaster
    • Topics: 13
    • Replies: 158
    • Total Posts: 171

    Not sure if you’ve check this, but here is the compatibility link for Studio, RSLinx, FTV to check against your Win10 build here. Personally, I’ve not made the leap to Windows 10 to run my Rockwell stuff…it never seems to play nice with the latest Windows OS. Provided you are installing all the latest and greatest software there is compatibility (with some known issues), however, if you’re installing pre-version 29 Studio, pre-version 3.9 RSLinx, or pre-version 9 FTV it will not work.

    #1000
    Fred Graham
    Fred Graham
    Keymaster
    • Topics: 13
    • Replies: 158
    • Total Posts: 171

    Curious??? Were you guys able to rectify the problem?

    #1011
    Waseem Usman
    Waseem Usman
    Participant
    • Topics: 0
    • Replies: 6
    • Total Posts: 6
    Karma: 10
    Rank: Padawan

    @Controlsnut Sir i am having same problem by launching ftview.
    Operating System WIN 10 PRO FTVS version 9.0.

    Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.
    #1016
    Fred Graham
    Fred Graham
    Keymaster
    • Topics: 13
    • Replies: 158
    • Total Posts: 171

    Hi Waseem and welcome to the forum!

    I’ve found a technote on this issue 979346 however you need a contract to view it.

    An update for the Microsoft Windows operating system is inadvertently breaking registration in DCOM for required FactoryTalk software components.

    The updates are for the following Windows Operating Systems:
    • From Windows 8 (Professional or Enterprise) to Window 8.1 (Professional or Enterprise)
    • From Windows 10 v1511 (Professional or Enterprise) to Windows 10 v1607 (Professional or Enterprise)

    Option 1 Solution

    1. Repair the FactoryTalk Services Platform using Add or Remove programs in Windows, then reboot the computer.

    Option 2 Solution
    During the operating system upgrade, a component of the FactoryTalk Services Platform is unregistered. To re-register the component, follow the steps below.

    1. Open the Windows Command Prompt as an Administrator.
    2. You can do this by holding Ctrl + Shift on your keyboard while clicking on the Command Prompt icon in Start Menu programs.
    3. Point the directory to C:\Windows\system32 by typing in cd C:\Windows\system32 and press the Enter key.
    4. Run the following command by typing in: regsvr32 “C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Rockwell\RNAClientCore.dll” and press the Enter key.
    5. When this is complete you should see the pop-up dialog containing “DllRegisterServer in C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Rockwell\RNAClientCore.dll succeeded.

    #1044
    Waseem Usman
    Waseem Usman
    Participant
    • Topics: 0
    • Replies: 6
    • Total Posts: 6
    Karma: 10
    Rank: Padawan

    Thank you sir I will try this and let you know when I resolved my problem.

    #1045
    Waseem Usman
    Waseem Usman
    Participant
    • Topics: 0
    • Replies: 6
    • Total Posts: 6
    Karma: 10
    Rank: Padawan

    My problem is resolved by unistalling microsoft security updates of jan 11 2018 ?…..

    #1128
    Matthew Dzielinski
    Matthew Dzielinski
    Participant
    • Topics: 0
    • Replies: 2
    • Total Posts: 2
    Karma: 10
    Rank: Padawan

    Thanks for the tip. Uninstalling the last security update fixed it for me.

    #1129
    James White
    James White
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 4
    • Total Posts: 5
    Karma: 12
    Rank: Padawan

    I had the same thing going on with FactoryTalk when my RSLinx was acting up. I did the uninstall of the Windows update, but Windows tried to do the same update a couple days later. After you uninstall the update download the utility… https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/3183922/how-to-temporarily-prevent-a-windows-update-from-reinstalling-in-windo…to keep it from trying to reinstall. There will be an option to “hide updates”. Find the problematic update and select it and then finish up. Hopefully it won’t give anymore troubles to any of us.

    #1130
    James White
    James White
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 4
    • Total Posts: 5
    Karma: 12
    Rank: Padawan

    This is the number for the Windows update…(KB4056829).

    #1131
    Matthew Dzielinski
    Matthew Dzielinski
    Participant
    • Topics: 0
    • Replies: 2
    • Total Posts: 2
    Karma: 10
    Rank: Padawan

    The number I seen for the Windows update was KB4056892

    #1260
    John Chabin
    John Chabin
    Participant
    • Topics: 0
    • Replies: 1
    • Total Posts: 1
    Karma: 10
    Rank: Padawan

    I uninstalled KB4056892 and it fixed my RSLinx.

    #3566
    Shane Pouliot
    Shane Pouliot
    Participant
    • Topics: 0
    • Replies: 2
    • Total Posts: 2
    Karma: 14
    Rank: Padawan

    I’m having this issue on a Windows 10 for Workstations version 1709 build 16299.431. My last update was Feature update to Windows 10, version 1803 on 5/14/2018 and my last Security Update was (KB4103729) on 5/9/2018. I installed Studio 5000  version 30 on 10/29/2018 and the client installed Webroot SecureAnywhere on 10/30/2018. I repaired FactoryTalk Services Platform 2.90.00 on 11/16/2018 and then rebooted. I’m still getting the message “There was an error logging onto the Security Server. Unexpected error encountered when logging into the Security Authority. (An unexpected error occured after the user was authenticated. Access privileges for this user may be misconfigured. See your Security Administrator)”.

    I’ve talked with Rockwell and my distributor and Rockwell said that it’s an issue with Webroot. I can’t find anything to support that or what I would need to have White Listed for it to work through Webroot. The is running on a SCADA node that is connected to the internet through a Cisco ASA that is creating a VPN connection over a city fiber optic network that is behind a Sonic Wall. I don’t want to just say that it’s Webroot without ruling out Windows Updates or trying to White List the necessary components. Any help is much appreciated.

    #3567
    Jim Manley
    Jim Manley
    Moderator
    • Topics: 17
    • Replies: 38
    • Total Posts: 55
    Karma: 223
    Rank: Jedi

    Shane –

    I’m running pretty much the exact same set up as you are (Windows 10 Version 1803, Studio 5000 Vers 28 and 30) with the exceptions that I’m running FT Services Platform 3.00.00 (CPR 9 SR 10) and my laptop is up to date (11/13/18)  on all applicable MS security/other patches.  I don’t, however, have WebRoot installed on my machine.  Nor would I allow it to be installed.

    When I took over the task of managing the IT at my current job, all the machines had WebRoot installed on them by the service provider.  It was an unmitigated disaster.  The service provider wasn’t a lot of help when it came to fixing broken software (one of the reasons I was hired).  The solution was to rip the software out by its roots (pun intended) which turned out to be no easy feat.  It’s as bad as any virus I’ve ever had to deal with.  In one case, I had to reformat a system’s hard drive to get rid of it since the removal process provided by the vendor didn’t work.

    I understand your approach to white listing, etc., but I suggest you turn it around.  Remove the WebRoot software and see if that fixes the problem.  If so, then get the client to work with the WebRoot administrator to sort out what needs white listing, etc.

    Just my 2¢

    Jim

    #3568
    Shane Pouliot
    Shane Pouliot
    Participant
    • Topics: 0
    • Replies: 2
    • Total Posts: 2
    Karma: 14
    Rank: Padawan

    Jim,

    Thank you for your experience. I just got off the phone with Rockwell and they suggested uninstalling and then reinstalling the Services Platform. I’m going down next week to work on this since uninstalling and reinstalling any software shouldn’t be done remotely and the client is almost two hours south of my office. Well I’m down there I’m going to have the client disable Webroot on that system to see if that resolves it. Rockwell also sent me a document that shows what needs to be White Listed. So if Webroot turns out to be the issue then I’ll go through that document with the client and see if white listing resolves the problem. I also checked Rockwell’s website and they don’t show any compatibility issues with my version of Windows.

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 22 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic. Login Register