Studio 5000 Project Correlating Issues Upload vs. GoOnline

Home PLCGurus.NET Live & Interactive Forum PLC Questions and Answers Rockwell, Allen-Bradley, Stratix Studio 5000 Project Correlating Issues Upload vs. GoOnline

https://www.linkev.com/?a_fid=ics-eng
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #805
    Matt Dekkerfleeter1
    Moderator
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 2
    • Total Posts: 3
    Karma: 102
    Rank: Jedi

    I have come across an issue with Studio 5000 v29 when going online with a project where it seems that the processor has reverted to earlier revisions of the project. As a rule I always upload the project when going online to ensure that I have the latest version in case I elect to make changes and back up my programs accordingly. This is not the case with electricians that may connect just to troubleshoot faulty sensors or intermittent problems, they are taught to just “Go Online” with the project or Upload but to never download to the controller as the laptops they use do not contain the latest project files.
    However it appears that when they “Go Online” without uploading and there were only minor changes between the online and offline project files that there is no warning to upload the project from the controller and the controller reverts to the program stored on the laptop. ???
    As we run 24/7 I am not always around when electricians are connecting to the equipment so I am not positive as to what is happening here, just curious if anyone else out there is experiencing similar issues?

    #806
    Fred GrahamFred Graham
    Keymaster
    • Topics: 15
    • Replies: 158
    • Total Posts: 173

    Hi Fleeter1,

    This is an interesting problem, that I have personally not seen. I will certainly do some digging as this sounds like it is a major type issue. From what I’m reading you’re saying that an old program actually is getting “Downloaded” even though you chose just to go online. That is a major issue.

    #808
    Matt Dekkerfleeter1
    Moderator
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 2
    • Total Posts: 3
    Karma: 102
    Rank: Jedi

    If there is a revision to the project even if you “Go Online” without uploading, it normally brings up a second screen and forces you to upload in order to connect. I agree that if there is a way this is happening it is a major issue and I am going to try and re-create the problem on my end. Just curious if anyone else has had a similar issue. I will post an update to this blog after I have tested it out. It’s just a little difficult as the equipment I am dealing with is in production.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.